Style Me Chambray

I think a lot of people struggle with the best way to style chambray tops. There is a fine line between awkward middle school teenage jacket circa 2005 (my Abercrombie & Fitch days, stylin’ and profilin’) and trendy, stylish 2014 life-liver. To be honest, I only just purchased my first chambray top last week (and I bought 2!). Crazy, crazy, I know. I also know that chambray tops are a staple in many people’s wardrobes, and if you haven’t gotten one yet and you live in the DC area hop on over to Nordstrom Rack because they have them for 10$!!!

Personally, I don’t typically buy clothing or accessories unless I can picture myself wearing it in at least 3 different ways, be it a shirt with jeans, leggings, or a skirt or a necklace that can be dressed up for work or going out, or dressed down with a simple tee and jeans for my lazy days, etc. Of course I don’t always follow that rule, but it’s a good way to prevent impulse buying for myself when I shop.

Displayed below you will see three ways you can easily style chambray (including the often faux pas “denim on denim”) for a fun way to make your clothing more versatile!

20140303-115426.jpg

For the office, a chambray top tucked into a simple, professional black skirt paired with pearls is an easy way to look stylish and put together. I often throw my hair into a quick sock bun if I’ve happened upon a terrible hair day.

20140303-115724.jpgIf you’re having a casual day shopping, or maybe a day of class that you want to dress up a bit, or even a date (and it isn’t snowing outside), this outfit might be for you. A little bubble skirt with pockets paired with sandals and a necklace that incorporate some of the colors of your look is a fun way to go.

20140303-121020.jpg

Finally, if you want to go out and you have been wearing that chambray top all day to the office or class and want to keep it going, throw on a pair of contrasting skinny jeans (if your chambray top is dark, go with light jeans, etc.), trendy boots and over the top jewelry to accessorize. (Shoutout to Grandma for the flask!) I actually did style this outfit this way to go out this weekend, so see below. Have a happy Monday and please like/comment/follow as you will. Check out my Instagram and Twitter at SK_OnTheRun

20140303-115629.jpg

Leave a Reply

