A Rainy Saturday Calls for the Brightest Colors… and Salvaging Damaged Goods

20140329-213715.jpg

Brett is in the process of moving into his new apartment in the most gorgeous part of DC (in my opinion) DuPont. While I had hoped to take some pretty shots outside on Saturday, apparently America decided to flood and it’s been pouring nonstop. I actually had a mini freak out because I thought I had ruined my brand new bag from Madewell (see below) because the white parts turned all blue and the leather was stained all kinds of wet. It seems to be drying nicely though the leather is still in the stage of questionably stained (any advice?) So, instead of nature or monuments, you can get a glimpse into his bright, cheery new place.

20140329-214658.jpg

 I always try to wear something colorful or exciting when it is raining. I’m not one of those people that loves cozy days spent snuggling in the rain, that’s not my jive. I like sunshine and joy and an utter lack of wetness, unless I am intentionally jumping into an ocean, spring or bathtub. So, to fit the theme, I chose this acid green top from Loft that I purchased last summer. It’s almost tissue-like, and has cute little polka dots. It’s also pretty sheer, so I had to pop an undershirt under it. The jeans are a dark wash from Nordstrom Rack, and my necklace is actually a great steal from Bealls Outlet! I’m not sure if any of my readers have every been there, but I bought a ton of statement necklaces there while I was home in Florida for Christmas, so if you have one, definitely peruse the jewelry section, very, very cheap.

20140329-213825.jpg

The only time I will give you a bathroom selfie on the blog, considering it’s new and has a cool black and white pattern 😉

20140329-213840.jpg

Here is a close up so you can see the lipstick I’m wearing, recently purchased and am obsessed with- Revlon Colorburst. This is a mix of two shades, the matte “Showy” and the shiny “Vivacious.” I highly recommend the lacquers they offer, though the matte seems to be a bit drying, so I always mix them.

20140329-214047.jpg

The carpet is pristine, so of course I had to go barefoot since my shoes were all wet! Very nice view of rowhomes though.

20140330-125550.jpg

This is the full outfit, including my Steve Madden oxfords which if you look closely at the laces you can see also got a bit drenched.

So friends, if any lesson is to be learned from the shoot, drape yourself in bright, cheery colors on rainy days, and never EVER bring your favorite new items out to play in the rain, you just might regret it! Check out my Insta and Pinterest for more photos of my life and times.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Rainy Saturday Calls for the Brightest Colors… and Salvaging Damaged Goods

Leave a Reply

