Cherry Blossom Festival

Outfit
Really Happy edited
Just feet
Gorgeous Tree
Shian unhappy monument edit
Painting 2
Shi Carousel 2 edited
Details Necklace
Shi in tree 2

This weekend, one of my good friends and fellow sorority sister alumni came into DC for the first time just to see the cherry blossoms we have to offer. We went down to the Tidal Basin, where they are in full bloom, and they were absolutely gorgeous. I actually had no plans to go there, but I’m so glad she came down because I would have missed one of the most lovely things my new home has to offer. (There were, however, tons of tourists, which was insane and rather overwhelming!) For this look I chose something summery and cheery to celebrate the warmest day of the year thus far, and I was so happy to be in shorts! Originally, I started the day in a pair of sandals I had just purchased (Joe’s) and on my way there the shoes broke. Thus, I popped into H&M and got these cute, extremely cheap tennis shoes. Brief fun history lesson- Did you know the Japanese gifted the DC cherry blossom trees to the United States in 1912? As a history nut, it was very interesting to hear about how this occurred. In recognition of our friendly ties to Japan, the country gifted America with several thousand trees, the first two being planted in the exact same spot I stood by our very own first lady Helen Taft, and the wife of the ambassador involved in the transfer. (http://www.nationalcherryblossomfestival.org/about/history/)

Top– Cotton On | Shorts– Nordstrom Rack | Shoes– H&M | Necklace– Bealls Outlet | Watch- Michael Kors | Shoes– H&M | Bag- Top Shop | Sunglasses– RayBan

2 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom Festival

Leave a Reply

