Vogue Editors Rule The World

09-falle 01-deetse02-falle04-falleJoan Necklace03-falle05-falle

In the spirit of fall and fashion, I have spent the last month or so purchasing strictly Fall/Winter “appropriate” clothing, and this top was my first fall purchase of the year. I also recently read this article where Anne T. Donahue tells me “What [I] Should and Shouldn’t Wear This Autumn” (2013). I thought to myself, well Ms. Donahue, I am quite a fan of beige year-round, in spite of your warnings. And why is it that yellow is acceptable to wear during winter but powder blue is a no-no? I am curious, why do we change our attire to be “fitting” for the seasons? While I couldn’t come up with a straight answer through a quick Google search (sorry friends I needed sleep last night), I was able to find this really swell article written by Laura Fitzpatrick explaining two interesting theories behind “no white after labor day.” The first
, social “snobbery.” White was a classier color for people to don when summer vacationing, and only the rich could afford that. Those who were “new money” and didn’t know the rules continued to wear white post-vacation, ostracizing themselves. Her second theory presented is that magazine editors worked up north in New York City and didn’t want to “risk sullying white ensembles with mud” because of fall downpours so this manifested into darker colored clothing being featured in fashion magazines like Vogue. Her final note is that these days, wear whatever you please. While I do genuinely like the darker colors (see above), powder blue for life, I say! (I’m wearing white in my next post as an act of etiquette rebellion)

| Top- Buffalo Exchange (Similar-High) (Similar-Low) | Shoes- Karmen | Bag- VERY old, but Balenciaga-inspired (Similar) | Necklace- Joan |    

2 thoughts on “Vogue Editors Rule The World

    • Yeah, agreed. I wish I had found something a little more concrete, but it definitely was an interesting bit of info and shed a little more light on the subject. Thanks much! I’ve become a bit of a sunglasses-buying fiend these days, ha.

Leave a Reply

